Russia exempts 18 countries from tourist visa requirement

Posted on April 21, 2017

Russian Prime Minister, Dmitry Medyedey announced that tourist and businessmen from 18 special nations will no more need a visa to enter Russia for a visit or for business tour purposes. “I have recently approved the list of nations, whose citizens can take benefit of this special regime. We are pro-actively forming the contemporary infrastructure and creating special regimes in the Far East; the law on visits to the Vladivostok free port was approved in March” “It is expected that the cancellation in the visa procedure will help in promoting the growth of the investment sector and tourist attractions of the far east.” announced the Minister at a meeting.

It is believed that the country aims to boost its tourism sector, and this announcement comes as a part of the similar initiative. Also, these 18 countries have been chosen according to the best mutual understanding of the nations and considering the benefit tourists of the respective country may bring to the Russian tourism industry.

The good news is India is one among these 18 special countries that have been chosen for visa exempt.

Taking reference from the official website of the Russian cabinet, here is a list of the 18 special countries that have been exempted from the visa requirement.

  • Algeria
  • Bahrain
  • Brunei
  • China
  • India
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Morocco
  • Mexico
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • UAE